Home >  Blog >  Spotlight on our 2016 LNA Landscape Excellence Awards Judges

Spotlight on our 2016 LNA Landscape Excellence Awards Judges

Posted by LNA Master Landscapers Association on 27 October 2016

On the eve of our 2016 annual LNA Landscape Excellence Awards Gala Event Evening, we would like to acquaint you with the judges for the awards.

This year's Awards have been judged by three head judges and a panel of accompanying judges who have assessed entries in the categories best related to their areas of expertise. Our three head judges this are Tim Creer, Gareth Collins and Stuart Pittendrigh.

Tim Creer

For the past 30 years or more, Tim Creer has freely shared has skill, experiences and expertise in landscape as a judge for the Landscape Construction Annual Design Awards Program. Many of our leading landscape designers and contractors in NSW have benefited from his design lectures whilst he was a teacher in Landscape Design at Ryde College of Further Education. As a successful practicing landscape architect and educator, Tim has made a significant contribution to the landscape industry and profession throughout NSW and the ACT.

Gareth Collins

Gareth Collins is a landscape architect with 25 years' experience working in the private and public sectors, both in Australia and the UK. He studied landscape architecture and urban design in Edinburgh and there managed a team of landscape architects in Cloustons and the RPS group.

Since 1999 he has been working in Australia, initially with the Government Architects Office, and since 2003 with Roads and Maritime Services. He is the Principal Manager for the Roads and Maritime Centre for Urban Design Direction across all road and maritime projects and provides input on rail and bus transport projects.

Gareth was the co-author of 'Bridge Aesethics', 'The Landscape Guideline' and 'Beyond the Pavement', a work that was awarded the AILA Award for Excellence and also the Australian Award for Urban Design in 2010. The high-level role he plays in the Government and his position in the NSW Government Senior Service help him to influence the projects and programs, as well as promote design excellence.

Stuart Pittendrigh

Stuart Pittendrigh has 49 years of practice experience and has a notable project base. Stuart retains a hands-on approach to landscape design, horticultural and arboriculture consulting, is an expert witness in Land and Environment Court determinations, and mentors at the University of New South Wales and the Ryde School of Horticulture.

At the age of 30, Stuart studied horticulture and landscape design at the Sydney Technical College's Ryde Campus, completing his training in 1972. He was granted Associate Membership of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects in 1977 and awarded a Fellowship in 1986.

In 1971, Stuart Pittendrigh and Associates Landscape Design and Horticultural Consultants (later Landscape Architects and Horticultural Consultants) was form and practiced for 17 years from a studio in North Rocks and later from Carlingford.

In 1988, Stuart accepted an appointment as Managing Director of Landscan Landscape Architecture for 5 years, he then followed this by becoming a founding director with PBS until his retirement as a consultant to the practice in 2008.

In 2000, Stuart was also awarded an Honourary Life Membership of LCA NSW and has been closely associated with the LCA/LNA since its formation in 1979.

Major projects undertaken by Stuart include St Vincent Hospice (winning the AILA Award of Excellence in 1989), Fagan Park Garden of All Nations in Arcadia, Black Wattle Bay Park, Riverside Oaks Golf Course and Barangaroo Reserve.

Stuart continues to make a major contribution to the profession and practice of Landscape Architecture, Horticultural Consulting and Arboricultural Assessment and reporting.

Panel Judges

The accompanying panel judges include a line up of very knowledgeable and experienced members of the landscaping industry and related fields. They include:

  • Craig McDonald from the Australian Institute of Landscape Designers and Managers (ALDIM) and Director of Spade Design
  • Tony Spies, also from the Australian Institute of Landscape Designers and Managers (ALDIM) and Anthony Spies Landscapes
  • Martin Pell from the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) and founding Director of Sprout Landscape Architecture
  • David Louden from the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) and David H Louden Landscape Architecture
  • Daniel Herbert from TAFE NSW Illawarra Institute, Yallah Campus
  • Jonathon Garner proprietor of Puddleton Cottage Gardens and past President of the Australian Institute of Horticulture (AIH).


Our thanks go to all our judges for generously donating their time and expertise in assessing this year's entries.

We look forward to seeing both our judges and those of you lucky enough to have tickets, tomorrow evening! It promises to be a fun night and a great celebration.

Author: LNA Master Landscapers Association
Tags: Industry News

Our Partners

209/4 Columbia Court, Baulkham Hills, New South Wales 2153

(02) 9630 4844

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrintMember Login